Getting an Oregon Marriage License.
To obtain a marriage license in Oregon you should apply to the County Clerk’s office of the county you wish to be married in, usually for a small fee. There is a three day waiting period between application and issue (this may be waived with a court order). Marriage licenses are good for 60 days from issue. If they expire, you must re-apply.
General Requirements to get married in Oregon:
- You must be at least 17 years old (with parental consent) or otherwise at least 18 years old to get married in Oregon.
- First cousins, or anyone more closely related (by blood) are not allowed to marry.
- You must wait one day after a divorce is final to re-marry.
- Same-sex marriage in Oregon became legal on May 19, 2014.
Who may perform wedding ceremonies in Oregon?
- A member of the Clergy
- An Oregon Judicial Officer
- A County Clerk
Changing your name
If you are changing your name – and both men and women do so these days – indicating so your wedding certificate makes it official. You will then need to change it on your driver’s license, social security, credit cards, banks, insurance, passport, with your employer, etc. In some instances you will need to present (or send) a copy (sometimes a certified copy) of your marriage certificate to make these changes happen. Gathering as much of the necessary paperwork in advance as possible, and getting an adequate number of copies of your marriage certificate once the ceremony has taken place, can go a long way toward getting all your changes taken care of smoothly and quickly.
Other paperwork or legal matters that may need to be considered:
- Prenuptial Agreements
- Insurance beneficiary designations
- Other legal considerations
Please consult a qualified legal representative for help with these matters, or any legal matters pertaining to your marriage of which you are unsure or have questions.
For more on the more legal aspects of Getting Married in Oregon, the Oregon State Bar website has a lot of helpful info.
The information provided here is for general informational purposes only. It is not, and should not be mistaken for, qualified legal advice. In addition, laws and requirements may change. Certain counties may have additional requirements or restrictions not mentioned here. Make sure you inquire at the county offices where the ceremony will take place for specific marriage license instructions well in advance of your wedding date.